What Are Michigan’s Laws About Concealed Carry in 2024?

What Are Michigan’s Laws About Concealed Carry in 2024?

As of 2024, a majority of states permit someone to carry a concealed firearm without a permit.  This is known as permit-less carry, or constitutional carry laws.  However, you shouldn’t let that milestone mislead you; many states, including Michigan, still heavily regulate who can carry a gun, and even when you successfully obtain a government-mandated permit, the state tells gun owners where they can carry them.

Michigan Concealed Carry Laws

Michigan law bans the carrying of a concealed pistol anywhere outside the gun owner’s home, business, or land. Once they leave their premises, they must have a license; carrying a concealed pistol in public without a license is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison.

Obtaining a Concealed Pistol License

In Michigan, obtaining a concealed carry license requires that you file an application at your local county clerk’s office. The good news for applicants is that county clerks must issue a concealed pistol license if they meet all the requirements set out in the law, but the bad news is that the list of requirements is quite long. 

A person can only apply for a license if they meet the following conditions:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted alien
  • Be a Michigan resident for at least six months
  • Complete a pistol safety training course
  • Have a valid, unexpired driver’s license or ID card

The law also has a long list of people who must be denied a license or have their license revoked. License holders cannot have any of the following:

  • Any mental health or domestic violence court orders against them
  • Their firearms rights stripped according to Michigan penal law
  • A felony conviction or pending felony charge
  • A dishonorable discharge from the U.S. military
  • A misdemeanor conviction within the last eight years for domestic violence, stalking, or weapons crimes
  • A misdemeanor conviction within the last three years of OWI, theft, or drug crimes
  • A criminal disposition of any charge of “guilty but mentally ill” or “not guilty by reason of insanity”
  • Any involuntary commitment due to mental illness
  • Any diagnosed mental illness involving a danger to self or others
  • A court order of legal incapacity

As a means of verifying that an applicant meets all of these requirements and does not violate any of the above restrictions, the Department of State Police will conduct a background check using both state and federal databases. 

If the applicant is not a U.S. citizen, it will also verify — through U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services — whether the applicant is a legal immigrant.

Location Restrictions

Even after you obtain a concealed pistol license, Michigan still restricts you from carrying a concealed handgun in certain places, including the following:

  • Schools, including school property, unless the weapon is inside a vehicle
  • Childcare or daycare centers
  • Sports arenas and stadiums
  • Bars and taverns (only applies to customers)
  • Churches or other places of worship, unless the church permits concealed carry
  • Entertainment facilities with seating capacities of 2,500 or more
  • Hospitals
  • The dormitories and classrooms of a community college, college, or university

Judges can punish first-time violators with a fine of up to $500 and a license suspension of at least six months, and repeat violations can result in misdemeanor or felony charges.

Learn About Your Second Amendment Rights

Michigan’s gun licensing laws are complex. If you have been charged with a gun crime in Michigan, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to learn how to defend your right to own and carry firearms.