How are controlled substances classified in Michigan?

How are controlled substances classified in Michigan?

Depending on the type and quantity of the drug, a person could be looking at many years in prison along with exorbitant fines. Controlled substances are broken into different drug schedules by the federal government based on how addictive a substance is and how likely it is to be abused. 

The state of Michigan uses the same classification determining drug penalties. There are five different drug schedules, with Schedule I being the most problematic and Schedule V being the least. This guide explains the differences between schedule and lists common drugs found within each. 

Schedule I 

Along with an increased likelihood of dependence, Schedule I drugs are considered to have no medical applications. Heroin, ecstasy, LSD, and methaqualone (which is a sedative) are all classed as Schedule I drugs. Despite it being legal in some states, including Michigan, marijuana is also considered a Schedule I substance on the federal level. 

Schedule II 

While Schedule II drugs also have a high potential for dependence, they can be used in controlled medical settings for sedation and pain relief. Schedule II drugs include cocaine, methadone, Adderall, fentanyl, and oxycodone. 

Schedule III-V 

Substances included in Schedules III through V are considered a lower risk in terms of abuse potential, but they can still cause problems in users. They include: 

  • Schedule III – Ketamine, codeine, and anabolic steroids fall into this category. 
  • Schedule IV - Antianxiety medications like Xanax, Valium, and Ativan are all Schedule IV. Sleep aid Ambien is also included.  
  • Schedule V - Some Schedule V substances can be purchased over the counter in drug stores, while others require a prescription. Over the counter medications such as cough medicine are considered Schedule V, as are nerve pain medications like Lyrica.