- December 2, 2021
- Domestic Violence
Physical contact is not necessary to be charged with domestic violence
Domestic violence is not limited to hitting, shoving or other physical acts. In Michigan, it is possible to be charged with domestic violence even if you never touched the alleged victim.
Who can be the victim of domestic violence?
Per Michigan law, domestic violence is not limited to acts between spouses or former spouses. Those in a dating relationship or former dating relationship, those who have a child together or even those that live in the same household or used to live in the same household have a domestic relationship for the purposes of Michigan domestic violence laws.
What constitutes domestic violence in Michigan?
In Michigan, domestic violence goes beyond physical abuse. Sexual abuse, such as forcing someone to have sex, emotional and psychological abuse such as making threats of harm or manipulating your partner with lies, and economic abuse such as denying access to bank accounts, may all be considered acts of domestic violence or abuse that may be punishable under Michigan law.
Domestic violence is not just physical and is not just a “family matter”
As this shows, criminal domestic violence is not limited to physical violence between spouses. It includes sexual abuse, emotional abuse and economic abuse. It is punishable in Michigan as a misdemeanor by a jail sentence of up to 93 days and/or a $500 fine. More serious allegations may be charged as a felony. Because of the punitive measures associated with domestic violence, as well as the social effects, it is important that those accused of domestic violence develop a solid defense strategy with the help of a professional, with the aim of reducing charges or having the charges dropped altogether.
If you or someone you care about have been charged or are under investigation for domestic violence, call the Law Office of John Freeman today. We can help.