- March 30, 2023
- Hunting Regulations
Can my child hunt with me?
As anyone who has ever lived in Michigan knows, hunting is extremely popular in this state. The start of hunting season is treated almost like a major holiday, and hunting is a tradition that many residents and their families enjoy.
Most Michigan hunters began hunting when they were young, learning from their family members. If you have children, you might be wondering if there are any rules you must follow when it comes to hunting with a child.
The Mentored Youth Hunting Program
The answer is yes, there are laws that you must follow. There is even a program intended for hunters with children called the Mentored Youth Hunting Program.
This program allows children who are at least nine years old to hunt with a mentor who is at least 21 years old.
There are requirements to be a mentor. In addition to being 21 years old, you must have a valid Michigan hunting license and have hunting experience.
The child hunter can hunt using a firearm, archery equipment or a crossbow, although the equipment must be properly sized to the physical child. For example, you could probably not have your small nine-year-old child hunting with a larger firearm designed for an adult.
A mentor must also comply with equipment requirements. Only two hunting devices can be used while out in the field and the mentor must always remain within arm’s length of the child when hunting.
There are different rules that apply to hunters between the ages of 10 and 16 who have an apprentice license.
It is important that you understand all of the rules involved if you are going to hunt with your child, since the law states that you are responsible for all your child’s actions when hunting.
There are attorneys familiar with Michigan hunting laws that can provide you with advice and guidance.