- February 13, 2024
- Gun Law
Can I Carry a Loaded Gun in My Car in Michigan?
If you’re a Michigan gun owner, you are probably well aware that the state’s changing gun laws continue to infringe on your Second Amendment rights. That means it’s more important than ever to stay informed about what Michigan law says about what you can and can’t do with your guns.
Know your rights — and obligations — when it comes to carrying a loaded gun in your car in Michigan. If law enforcement charges you with a crime because you had a loaded gun in your car, you can fight back by contacting a criminal defense attorney ready to protect your gun rights.
Carrying a Loaded Gun in Your Car in Michigan
If you’re a Michigan resident, you must have a valid concealed pistol license (CPL) and the accompanying paperwork in order to legally carry a loaded handgun in your vehicle.
If you’re a Michigan gun owner and you don’t have a concealed pistol license, you can’t legally transport a loaded gun in your vehicle. Without a CPL, any firearms in your car must be unloaded, stored in a carrying case, and out of reach of the driver and other occupants.
Michigan’s Concealed Pistol License (CPL) Limitations
Michigan’s concealed pistol license gives you the right to keep a loaded handgun in your car. While Michigan gun laws have grown increasingly strict, there is good news for out-of-state drivers.
If you have a concealed carry permit from a different state, Michigan law enforcement should respect that permit. That means both in and out-of-state drivers are legally allowed to drive with a loaded handgun in the vehicle, as long as they have a valid concealed carry license.
Before you hit the road with a loaded handgun in your glove box, it is important to understand your obligations if you’re ever stopped by law enforcement. If you’re pulled over by the police, you are required to:
- Inform the officer that you have a loaded weapon in the vehicle
- Provide the officer with a copy of your concealed carry license
- Provide the officer with your driver’s license
The best way to avoid serious legal consequences while driving with a loaded weapon is to always carry copies of both your CPL and driver’s license.
Failing to have license copies on hand can leave you with a $100 fine, even for a first offense. If you fail to notify the police that you’re legally carrying a loaded handgun in the car, you face a $500 fine, and your concealed carry license could be suspended for up to five years.
Fighting for Your Second Amendment Rights
It can be hard to keep up with Michigan’s changing gun laws. Unfortunately, not knowing your obligations as a Michigan gun owner can leave you with significant fines, charges, and other legal consequences.
If you find yourself facing gun-related charges, you should contact a Michigan gun charges criminal defense attorney willing to aggressively fight for your Second Amendment rights.